McDowell Presbyterian Church

from Beth's Desk....


 Lines from the poetry of Mary Oliver (who died last month) speak to your heart or they do not.

In February, seemingly heavy with darkness, be lifted by Mary Oliver’s contemplations . . .


maybe the desire to make something beautiful is the piece of God that is inside each of us . . . only if there are angels in your head will you ever, possibly, see one . . .


Things! Burn them . . . More room in your heart for love, for the trees! For the birds who own nothing – the reason they can fly . . .


Let God and the world know you are grateful . . . I wish I could sing. A little thanks from every throat would be appropriate. . .


In the company of Mary Oliver, may your February be just a little lighter.


Pastor Beth


FEBRUARY CALENDAR

2019

Sunday, Feb. 3

Communion Worship Service @ 11.15 a.m.

        Kid’s Club @ 2.30 p.m.

         Confirmation @ 4.30 p.m.

Tuesday, Feb. 5 Bible Study @ 9.30 a.m.

Wednesday, Feb. 6 Spiritual Tea @ 9.30 a.m. @ Angelika’s


Sunday, Feb. 10 Worship

     Monday, Feb. 11 MVFD Auxiliary meets

           6.30 p.m. @ the Fire House
      MVFD meets @ 7.30 p.m.

Tuesday, Feb. 12 Bible Study

Wednesday, Feb. 13 Spiritual Tea

Saturday, Feb. 16 Community Lawn Party

@ 5.00 p.m. @ Stonewall Ruritans

Sunday, Feb. 17 Worship @ 11.15 a.m.

         Kid’s Club @ 2.30 p.m.

         Confirmation @ 4.30 p.m.


Tuesday, Feb. 19 Presbyterian Women (PW) meet @ 10.00 a.m. in the Fellowship Hall

Wednesday, Feb. 20 Spiritual Tea

Saturday, Feb. 23 Presbytery Meeting

        (Lawn Party snow date)

Sunday, Feb. 24 Worship @ 11.15 a.m.

Tuesday, Feb. 26 Bible Study

Wednesday, Feb. 27 Spiritual Tea

  HANDICAP ACCESSIBILITY 

 McDowell Presbyterian has a handicapped-accessible rest-room, a ramp for ease of entrance from the

gravel parking lot at the rear of the  building,  and large print bulletins and devotionals. 



Come worship with us:

In MCDOWELL:  Worship Service: 11:15 a.m.      

 in beautiful HIGHLAND COUNTY, VIRGINIA

Friends  -  Faith  -  Family

WHAT'S  NEW.......


PW looking for Yard Sale donations!

PW’s annual Yard Sale

(during both Saturdays

of Maple Festival)

is receiving donations.

Last year was our best year ever

thanks to all your generous support.


Bring your donations to

the Choir Room in the church.

We take anything small enough to fit in a car,

except no clothes, please

(they just don’t sell for us).


If you need someone to come get your donations, call Jean Smith or Laura LaPrade and they’ll get you sorted.



Type your paragraph here.