McDowell Presbyterian Church

      

                                    

JANUARY CALENDAR


Sun, Jan 1 Worship at McDowell at 11.15 a.m.

Tues, Jan 3 Bible Study at 9.30 a.m. @ the Fellowship Hall

Thurs, Jan 5 Grief Group final meeting

Sun, Jan 8 Communion Service celebrating Epiphany at 11.15 a.m.

Tues, Jan 10 Bible Study

Thurs, Jan 12 Grief Group (snow day)

Sun, Jan 15 Worship

    SESSION MEETING FOLLOWING WORSHIP

Mon, Jan 16 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

Tues, Jan 17 Presbyterian Women (PW) meet in the Fellowship Hall at 10 a.m.

Sun, Jan 22 Worship

Tues, Jan 24 Bible Study

Sun, Jan 29 5th Sunday Service – location TBA


 from  Beth's  desk ....


I sometimes think we are the oddest of faiths, observing one of our most joyous festivals of the year (Christmas) as we enter into the darkness of winter in our northern hemisphere.


I wonder what it must be like to celebrate Christmas in the southern half of the world, when Christmas comes in the summer and Easter in the autumn? What understandings shift simply because of the time of year in which we observe Christmas?


So to all my northern friends (and Virginians, to everyone south of the equator, we are all northerners here in the United States) – may the summer winds bring you an epiphany of exceeding great joy, filled with the promise of long summer days.

Pastor Beth

  HANDICAP ACCESSIBILITY 

 McDowell Presbyterian has a handicapped-accessible rest-room, a ramp for ease of entrance from the

gravel parking lot at the rear of the  building,  and large print bulletins and devotionals. 

Come worship with us:

In MCDOWELL:

        Worship Service: 11:15 a.m. 

PLEASE NOTE:worship at  the Headwaters Chapel has been suspended.

     

 in beautiful HIGHLAND COUNTY, VIRGINIA

Friends  -  Faith  -  Family